Ballroom Dance > A pro because you do it for a living

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by DanceMentor, Apr 27, 2017.

1. DanceMentor

DanceMentor Administrator

It seems to me that often the point is made that someone is a professional dancer because it is their primary source of income. And as a result a person is supposed to treat this person with a different sort of Dignity & Respect.

For me this question doesn't really enter my mind. If I see someone teaching at the studio or competing as a professional, I grant them respect and dignity because of their exemplary dancing and the way they carry themselves on and off the floor.

In this crazy world there are all different ways that people reach for the top, or simply teach dancing. There are some professionals who were well funded from the time they were very young and continue to be funded well now. They are professionals who started from nothing and they became a great dancer through sheer force of will and hard work. They are professionals who have drug problems and relationship problems and have fallen short. There are people who found jobs in the dance industry and are teachers but also make money another way is even though it's in dancing. There are teachers who are full of passion for dancing and teachers who have lost that passion but continue to teach.

But for me, at the end of the day it is about the exemplary dancing, strong character and commitment, development of good teaching methods, and inspiration that people feel when they are around the teacher.

You are not granted pro status just because you do it for a living. You earn it. Thoughts?

2. eaglemike

eaglemike New Member

Someone I studied under years ago said "a true professional acts like one." This sums it up to me.
    The first sentence of your last paragraph......
    I've studied with several that had that sort of character, some that were close, and some that just wore the robes......

3. Larinda McRaven