Swing Discussion Boards > AABA form seems to be impossible for me to understand

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by Elysium, Jul 11, 2016.

1. Elysium

Elysium New Member

Hey guys,

I have been dancing lindy hop since Jan 2016. I have reached a level where we are looking at musicality (it is not vital but my teachers have been talking a lot about it lately).

Are there any very good examples (detailed ones) of songs that I could practice to in order to get the gist of it?

I am having a hard time with the intro and knowing when to start the rock step and dancing too. That's one thing I need to start looking into too.

Cheers

2. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

Hey, welcome!

Maybe start here http://rustyfrank.com/aaba.html Rusty Frank is a "trusted source."

Sometimes knowing exactly when the Intro ends can be tricky, but in Tip Light, it seems pretty easy to hear when the intro ends and the first A section begins.

Oh, and yeah, it's in a West Coast Swing thread, but "it's all swing."

(I'm sure there will be more.)

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 12, 2017
  3. Sunsetdancer

Sunsetdancer Member

This is very timely! I keep trying to improve my WCS, but the rules keep changing......what to do? Is there an expected right or wrong where musicality is concerned?

4. Steve Pastor

There are lots of different ways to express what we hear in music within the style we know as "West Coast Swing."
    Sometimes something as simple as, the lady walks forward on "THE" first downbeat of a phase can't, or shouldn't be taken as a hard and fast rule. Being judged in a competition is a different animal.

I just had an interesting edit thing about anchor steps, and it started with Skippy Blair's explicit statement that an anchor isn't a rhythm or a foot position. In other words, you don't have to do triples. And yet, one common question people ask is why don't pros do triples.