Arms

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by Sarah, Oct 23, 2003.

1. Sarah

Sarah New Member

When I started learning salsa we were initially taught to keep everything above the waist fairly still and quiet, with the understanding that the shoulder rolling/arm movement would come back naturally when the feet,knees and hips were all doing the right thing. The upshot of this is that I'm more comfortable with leaders who have quiet arms, or at least quieten down when they're going to attempt something complicated.

Sometimes I find on the social dancefloor a dancer with what seems to be artificially exaggerated arm movements, and when I dance with them I have difficulty finding the leads in all that noise. I also find that I have to go somewhat spaghetti-armed to protect my elbows and shoulders from injury[1].
    Others seem to be following them all right, although they may be recognising patterns.....

So is there something I could be doing better to follow these types of leaders?
    I readily admit to being biased toward my own club's style of dancing, so I prefer the way quieter arms look (stronger and more connected, to my mind). What are others thoughts on salsa arms?

Cheers
    Sarah

[1]Honestly, at times it feels like the guy is trying to unscrew them. :?

2. Salsero_AT

Salsero_AT New Member

Hi Sarah !

When a man does such a arm movement that you do not recognize when his leads start there is nothing wrong with you but with his lead. He should hold his arms still when he leads. I do move my arms around sometimes but not when i start a lead. So i think it is not your fault but some guys are just to excited when dancing to keep their arms still when they should ;).

Keep on dancing
    Christian

3. borikensalsero

borikensalsero Moderator

It is a bad habit, not only for leaders but followers, to swat their arms around in blocking position as if they were in karate class fighting the entire student body.