Tango Argentino > AT: is it too much for ballroom beginners?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Twilight_Elena, Dec 31, 2004.

1. Twilight_Elena

Twilight_Elena Well-Known Member

I'm a 17 year-old beginner of ballroom dancing (have been taking lessons since August) and as soon as I finish high school (around June) and thus have more spare time, I wanted to give a try at AT. There are open lessons every Wednesday at my dance school's ballroom.
    The question is... should I? With only 9 months of ballroom experience (including ballroom tango), perhaps I shouldn't try AT. Do you believe I should wait till I have more of a dancing experience? Is AT more of an advanced try?

Twilight Elena

2. Chris Stratton

Chris Stratton New Member

AT is neither advanced nor introductory compared to ballroom... it's just very different. Some experience in one would give you some confidence to approach the other, but many common habits in each style are really problematic in the other, so there would be a lot of adjustments to make.

Try AT when it's something you feel you want to do, regardless of where you are in ballroom at that point.

3. Sagitta

Sagitta Well-Known Member

I agree with Chris. I personally wish I had started AT and dancing many years ago. One really can only learn a dance if one has the drive and desire to do so. So if you have this then start AT. If you get really good at AT you will find that it will also help you a lot with your other dances as well. More so than the other way around.

4. ReneeJoan

ReneeJoan New Member

Dear Twilight Elena:

I started Argentine Tango about two and a half years ago, and prior to that I had no dance training or experience whatsoever. My poor teacher was having to start from ground zero. I had no concept what a difficult challenge I had taken on, but the difficulty only made me more determine to master it.