Salsa > beginner-follower

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by vey, Dec 5, 2003.

1. vey

vey New Member

Hi everybody! I've been reading dance-forums' discussions for a while and found them very useful. Finally, I've built up enough courage for my first post
    :)
    Here goes my question: :?:
    Being a beginner I'm never quite sure what to do when I don't understand leader's signal , is it better to continue whatever I was doing before (ignoring the signal) or try to interpret the signal to the best of my understanding ? It seems that whichever of these options I pick, some leaders get annoyed :( Any advice?

Vey

2. Vince A

Vince A Active Member

Hi vey,
    I just wanted to say "hi" and welcome to the Dance-Forums.

What you should strive to do as a beginner IS NOT to anticipate any move. So, if you do something that you think the leader is wanting, you are anticipating. Go where the leader is putting you . . . be it right or wrong. It will come to you, we've all been there.

As a leader, I can follow, and I had the same problems until someone told me not to anticpate any move. Just go!

You may want to check this out as well:
    http://www.dance-forums.com/viewtopic.php?t=869

See ya'
    Vince

3. SwinginBoo

SwinginBoo New Member

I think you should always try to follow. Even if you aren't sure. If you don't get it, ask the leader to try it again and maybe explain what you should do. Most leaders shouldn't mind if you don't follow something but want to try to learn it. I think it would be a rare instance for a leader to be annoyed.

4. jenibelle

jenibelle New Member

Hi!
    Glad you've worked up the courage to post :wink:
    I think it's just experience that you need, the more you practise the more accustomed you will be and the easier you can "read the guy's mind." Besides, a really good leader will make it very clear what he wants you to do and if you screw up, who cares? Just try it again!