Swing Discussion Boards > beginner lead

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by css, Oct 3, 2005.

1. css

css New Member

I recently started learning swing from a club at college but they're only teaching moves and not technique.

Does anyone have ideas on how to learn to lead without an instructor?
    Is this even the right question?

2. Chris Stratton

Chris Stratton New Member

You might want to split things into two parts to practice at different times:

1) drilling your own body actions so that you don't have to think about them all the time

2) thinking only about what the girl is doing and how she would get from what she's doing now to what you'd like to lead next

Eventually you'll be able to do both things automatically and let your attention shift back and forth...

3. chachachacat

chachachacat Well-Known Member

I don't know how one can learn to lead without private lessons. You're right, group classes are not the way to learn leading, following or much technique. There are many benefits to groups, but private lessons are the fastest, least frustrating way to learn dancing.

4. huey

huey New Member

Finding a teacher who will teach you how to lead (whether from private lessons or groups lessons) will be useful.

You could also try the following -

1. Talk to leaders you admire and ask their advice.

2. Find a dance friend and work on things together. Experiment leading and following.

Here's a useful link all about lead and follow -
    http://www.eijkhout.net/lead_follow/

5. macha

macha New Member

You know, 4c, that really hits home, and I'm glad I heard it from someone else besides everyone inside my head.