Tango Argentino > Best place to study tango intensively in August?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by chipi3, Dec 8, 2015.

1. chipi3

chipi3 New Member

Hi I am hoping to get some suggestions on where best to study tango in the summer months, especially August 2016? I am hoping to spend a few weeks taking group and private classes and going to milongas and practicas intensively in the summer (as I could usually take sometime off in the summer). I am a fast beginner-ish currently and am eager to learn!

I thought about BsAs but it seems it's going to be cold and raining (some told me that a lot of BsAs apartments don't have proper heating) and a lot of the good teachers would be away. I phoned DNI which hasn't started working on their summer schedule but commented that there would generally be less classes in August.

So maybe a European city such as Berlin? Again, I know nothing about the tango scene in Berlin and I don't have any idea in what languages they conduct their classes there.

Any suggestions? Thank you all!

2. Someday

Someday Member

Hi chipi3,

Here are some observations:

* You don't say where you live and that's an important piece of data to answer your question.

* There is a trade-off in traveling to learn vs staying at home to learn.

* The world of Tango teaching has changed considerably from the days when you had to go to BaS for instruction. Now, many instructors from BaS come to the USA to teach. They can make a lot more money teaching here. They often stay at a hosts home here and can live rather inexpensively. So, if you have access to high quality teachers (if you live near San Francisco, New York, Seattle, Berlin, Paris, London, etc), then you can decide whether to spend the thousands of dollars necessary for travel/housing or instead spend it on private instruction and stay home.