Ballroom Dance > Dancing on TV > Breaking Pointe

Discussion in 'Dancing on TV' started by leee, Jun 21, 2012.

1. leee

leee Well-Known Member

Anyone watching this? I kind of expect DFers to sniff their noses at this, especially since it definitely doesn't have a documentary feel so much as a vibe straight out of an MTV reality series.

2. soshedances

soshedances Active Member

I've watched it...as I have very little experience with ballet, I think it's interesting to see what these dancers go through to have a successful career. I agree that the editing is very much MTV-esque, which is ok for entertainment but I want to see more dancing!

:cool:

3. leee

leee Well-Known Member

I probably should've mentioned this in the first post, but it's about ballet, at least ostensibly. Be forewarned, it focuses a lot on romantic relationships at the expense of really engrossing dance stuff. I've had to recalibrate my expectations just to not give up on the show entirely.

4. vcolfari

vcolfari Member

I'm totally hooked on this show. Hope it continues.

5. Wolfgang

Wolfgang Member

Definitely more a 'reality' show than a dance show.

6. danceronice

danceronice Well-Known Member

I forgot it was going to be on (I don't watching the CW generally) but I'll try and remember to catch it next time...I figured from what little previews I saw it was going to be more "Center Stage: the reality show" than a technical review of the life of a ballerina, but there are worse sets of people to follow around, I suppose.

7. gingerbread

gingerbread Member

Just downloaded a bunch of shows to watch. so disappointing. Ballet West is a seriously excellent company and I was therefore hoping to see serious park. I mean, Paquita, Emeralds, these are important roles.Alas.

8. tangomaniac

tangomaniac Active Member