General Dance Discussion > Burnout Question

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Spitfire, Jun 20, 2003.

1. Spitfire

Spitfire Well-Known Member

Well, it's time to admit it. After dancing continuously for the past eight years I think I'm actually beginning to experience burnout and am considering cutting back.

I think one of the factors is dancing at the same place all the time; there is not much variety here as far as other studios and venues go.

What I'm curious to know is how others who may have been in the same situation delt with this.

2. DanceMentor

DanceMentor Administrator

Hi Spitfire,

I have felt this at times, also. I've been dancing for about 11 years and I don't dance nearly as much as I did when I started, but I still enjoy it. I think it's OK to take a break for a short time. I'll bet you'll miss it and then find yourself dancing as much as ever.

3. Spitfire

That's why I don't want to take a complete break from it; just cut back on it for awhile.

4. Black Sheep

Black Sheep New Member

Spitfire,
    I have advocated that dancers learn and dance several of the Ballroom dances instead of sticking to just Salsa or just Lindy, etc., Fortunately, I was originally trained in 1949 for Chain Studio teaching and we had to be fairly proficient in all the Ballroom dances before we were allowed to teach. I once thought that Tango was my favorite, then I met a great Swing dancer and that became my favorite until I discovered Mambo/Salsa and I found that to be the dance were I could more fully express myself. Every dance has a different mood and fulfills a new fantasy.