Country and Western > C&W Competitions

Discussion in 'Country and Western' started by Vince A, Oct 14, 2004.

1. Vince A

Vince A Active Member

Are there any C&W dancers that compete in any venue?

What dances?
    What venue?

2. sunderi

sunderi New Member

Just for kicks, I did some C&W entries once at a competition. I really had very little idea of what I was doing, and it was just lead & follow. Fun, though. :)

3. SuzieQ

SuzieQ New Member

I see this question was posted a long time ago and got no responses.

I compete in c&w--usually in American Country events, sometimes in UCWDC. (I'm hoping to do more UC events next year and go to Worlds if they are in the states.) I do waltz, 2-step, triple 2 step, polka, cha cha, ECS, WCS and nightclub 2 step. I've been competing for about 3 years and I love it! (I've been dancing 4 years--I also do some ballroom but haven't competed in it. My teacher is a ballroom dancer, though, who is really into the c&w scene.)

4. Vince A

Vince A Active Member

Happy to see that you brought it back up. We moderators, as well as others, frequently go back in and bring old threads up! Thanks . . .

Well form the dances that you listed . . . you certainly have all 8 of the typicla UCWDC competitive dances . . . you should be at the Intermediate level, at least, by now . . . maybe further. That is the level I was at when I decided to let dancing take a back seat to guitar, and to get better after having my doctor tell me that I had Diabetes Type II. But I certainly am itching to get back to competing.

That ballroom training certainly will help you in the UCWDC, as more and more of "their" rules are leaning toward ballroom.

So, who is your teacher? Many of the C&W dancers are crossovers from ballroom. They are the cause for making the UCWDC C&W events being better . . . I personally thank them for it! The "look" has really eveolved over the years that I competed in the UCWDC and CWDI.