Tango Argentino > "Cadencia" revisited

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Mario7, Feb 4, 2013.

1. Mario7

Mario7 Member

The meaning of the word 'Cadencia' has always provided food for thought in Arg. Tango.
    I remember swapping an English class for a Tango class with Arg. dancers/teachers and they also were perplexed and asking for a translation of the word 'cadencia'.. my advice to them was just to keep that term in Spanish and show examples of it's meaning...
    I'm not saying that I'm an expert on this nor even that I have the real meaning of the word nailed down. But that being said, what 'cadencia' means to me is the attitude and handling of the whole body of the dancer during the dance... that the dancer reflects, sings, interprets the music with his/her whole body...not just from the waist down.
    For an example, I am positing this video of two Japanese dancers... I used to think that only Argentines have cadencia but have been persuaded that this is just not true...here are two dancers from another country and I have not yet researched enough to know if they've been to BsAs...they certainly look it... dig the cadencia!

2. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

From sources undefined..

Cadencia - A deep check and replace, usually led by the man as he steps forward left. Useful for avoiding collisions and making direction changes in small spaces. May also refer to a subtle shifting of weight from foot to foot in place and in time with the music done by the man before beginning a dance to give the lady the rhythm he intends to dance and to ensure that she will begin with him on the correct foot.

Google translate (an excellent tool - I've gotten translations of entire blocks of text - a book on tango I came across in Patagonia - for example) gives "cadence" as the English equivalent of cadencia. And that is defined as "2. The measure of beat or movement, as in marching or dancing."