Dancers Anonymous > Cancun Travel Question

Discussion in 'Dancers Anonymous' started by TinyDancer109, Mar 20, 2013.

1. TinyDancer109

TinyDancer109 Well-Known Member

Hi All! In need of some advice from the travelers out there...

My BF and I are going to Cancun next month but we will only be there 4 days and 3 nights due to allowable time off from work. We definitely want to make the most of our time there though!

BF has been there a few times but this is my first time. He and I would really like to go see Chichen Itza and the cenotes but due to time constraints we would really prefer not to travel in a group tour and due to budget constraints we prefer not to hire a private tour...

So, we are considering renting a car at the airport (we arrive early and our room wont be ready yet) and driving to Chichen Itza/Cenotes our first day. I have read that it is a fairly easy drive, but I am more concerned about safety...

Has anyone on DF ever done this before? Is it safe? Is it an easy ride?

2. Mr 4 styles

Mr 4 styles Well-Known Member

DONT DO IT take a bus tour 1.5 hrs each way over crappy roads TTRUUSSTT MEEEEE

3. NURDRMS

NURDRMS Well-Known Member

I, like other US servicemembers, am prohibited from visiting Mexico...I would be concerned about travelling through the countryside...

4. TinyDancer109

Thanks for the concern and responses. Has anyone here actually done the trip or just suggesting it would be a bad idea? Apparently it is a fairly common drive for tourists along a major highway, not country roads. I would really like to get some feedback from anyone who might have done it before whether on their own or via tour group...

5. Mr 4 styles

of course i did it which part of TTRRUUSSTTT MMEEEE was unclear LOL BTDT once driving once bus

but you can convince yourself otherwise is you wish:rolleyes:

BTW great salsa club in cancun AZUCAR at least it was there 5 years ago :D

major highway in mexico means one lane each way !!

danceronice likes this.