Tango Argentino > Close Embrace Tango Teachers

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Lois Donnay, Oct 26, 2016.

1. Lois Donnay

Lois Donnay Member

Who are the great community teachers (not traveling pros) who concentrate on, teach and/or promote close embrace tango?

2. Zoopsia59

Zoopsia59 Well-Known Member

Do you mean here on our forum? Or well known somehow despite not actually traveling? How would someone ever know who the great non-traveling community teachers are if they aren't in that community?

For what it's worth, I teach in close embrace, even for total beginners. It prevents people from starting out with bad habits that they'll have to fix later if they aren't nipped in the bud. For instance, it's harder to look down in CE. It's harder to lead by pushing the follower around with your arms. It's better for developing proper posture.

There are so many things you can "cheat" in an open embrace.

(I'm not claiming to be one of the "great community teachers".. that assessment should come from other people, like my students and the people who dance with them.)

Paul Filipowicz and Lois Donnay like this.
  3. pascal

pascal Active Member

In Paris the number of teachers peaked to 160 at some point (much less now)
    Of them, two were close-embrace. One was teaching close-embrace right from the start, the other one from the second year on.
    With this said, many of our teachers gave a sample of the thing, by instance with a whole month of close-embrace, in their four-year cursus.

Paul Filipowicz and Lois Donnay like this.
  4. Lois Donnay

Lois Donnay Member

I agree completely with your teaching philosophy! I teach the same way. I ask because I will sometimes get a request for a referral in another town. There seem to be lots of teachers teaching open, stagey moves, and starting with the 8cb which I also don't like. I'd like to have a nice "database" of teachers who teach this way.

5. Lois Donnay

Lois Donnay Member