General Dance Discussion > Crossing Patterns Over.

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Spitfire, Nov 14, 2003.

1. Spitfire

Spitfire Well-Known Member

One thing I've learned in my dancing experience is that certain moves and patterns used in one dance can be crossed over to another.

Some examples are the sliding door move in Swing which also works well in Cha-Cha and the Sweetheart which I originally learned in Swing is used quite a bit in Cha-Cha, Salsa and Rumba.

However, I do limit this since it would make one dance seem too similar to the other, but the exception is NC2S. Most of the patterns I do here for the time being are those I know from other dances since I'm fairly new to it.

2. pygmalion

pygmalion Well-Known Member

Yup, spitfire. Another couple moves done in lots of dances: crossbody leads, back- or forward- spot turns. :D

3. Vince A

Vince A Active Member

Absolutely!
    Sliding doors, besides cha cha, can be done in ECS, NC2S, and Hustle.

Most moves can be crossed-over to other dances . . . even ones you'd never would imagine . . . such as 2 Step and Waltz moves :shock:

4. pygmalion

Yes. Lots of fun. One of my former teachers used to do that all the time -- use weird steps or amalgamations in totally unexpected dances. You know, rumba steps in waltz, or whatever. It's amazing how versatile some of those steps are -- even ones you wouldn't think of.

Then, the other fun game he like to play was doing different dances to the same song. Cha cha to a rumba or foxtrot to a hustle. He was such a hoot! :lol:

5. Vince A

Vince A Active Member

It's amazing how some people "hear" the music . . . I've seen a WCS, a slow Hustle, a slow cha cha, and, ready for this??? . . . a couple doing a 2 Step . . . all on the same floor, same song, at the same time.

Me thinks, someone had too many beers!

6. pygmalion

Probably too much beer. But it's always good for a laugh! :lol: