Country and Western > CW and Ballroom ECS, are they different?

Discussion in 'Country and Western' started by CwdTexas, May 9, 2007.

1. CwdTexas

CwdTexas New Member

I am new to dancing and have enjoyed and learned alot from this forum. I am taking CW lessons but would like to also take ECS lessons. The only ECS lessons in my area are ballroom. Is CW ECS different from BR ECS and if so how?

2. Vince A

Vince A Active Member

OK, from what I've seen, yes . . . basically!

There are several types of ECS - single, triple, etc., maybe even a double??? I've had a few BR ECS lessons, but I personally like the C&W ECS much better - my 2(ents!

Though, I think the resemblance ends there. I believe that the ballroom version is more upright, similar to jive; whereas, C&W ECS can be more loose, bent over, getting into more, etc. If you can do the ballroom version, you should be able to do the C&W version . . . just loosen your belt if you are a male, or unhook your bra if you are a woman! Let it all hang out!

I would hope that others, more knowledgeable than I, like Dancelf, Steve Pastor, kayak, or Spitfire, etc., will chime in here!

BTW . . . Welcome to the Dance-Forums!

3. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

I took a ballroom dance class a year or two ago, thinking that I might want to get free passage on cruise ships as a Gentleman Host dancer. (I had this "same" class years ago, twice, when I was first starting to do partner dances.)

The only real difference that I can remember was that we were encouraged to have a V shape frame rather than being parallel to each other. In fact, after doing ECS at country places for years, and having learned most of what I know there, that is the only thing I wrote down in my class notes.

I would expect ballroom style to encourge a more upright posture, too.