Salsa > Do you think beginners know what a good lead is?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by Backstreet, Sep 25, 2005.

1. Backstreet

Backstreet New Member

Well, for the past two weeks in my Salsa class I keep receiving comments from many different partners (Our class is about 40-50 people...) telling me I am a really good lead. I am only a beginner in Salsa (I started at the end of August), but I do have prior dance experience in just about every non-partner dance field. (Ballet, Tap, Hiphop, Jazz, etc) It is very flattering when we change partners and they are thanking me with a big smile on their face like they had a lot of fun.

Is this kind of compliment fairly common in a beginner class? Or am I doing something right? (I always have a good attitude and I always try to keep everything random so I don't form any patterns)

Edit: Some of the dancers in the class have done Salsa before.

2. Katarzyna

Katarzyna Well-Known Member

Well, if they thank you, you must feel good to dance with.. You must be doing something right :)

I'm not a good salsa dancer, but even thought as your dancing grows your preferences change for what you want in a leader, but from earliest stages, you can tell who feels good to dance and who doesn't. I am sure your previous dance experience helps you a lot. Especially to understand how to understand your body and stay connected to yourself while you lead :)

3. lynn

lynn New Member

i think definately - when i started learning salsa, we have about 80-100 students in the beginner's class and we rotate every couple of minutes so every follower gets to dance with every leader and vice versa. It was quite obvious who the good leads are - even for beginners!

4. Rosa

Rosa New Member

Yes, I think beginners very quickly come to recognise a good lead. Even if they don't understand the technicalities of it, it doesn't take them long to realise that it just makes everything so easy! 8)

Rosa :)

5. clave

clave New Member