Ballroom Dance > Videos > First Comp Intl Standard

Discussion in 'Videos' started by CTSalsa, Apr 15, 2009.

1. CTSalsa

CTSalsa New Member

Hi everyone! This is my first competition in standard. Any constructive criticism is welcome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxSXHkOG_gs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71rOxKJWaPA

2. latingal

latingal Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to DF CTSalsa!

Just so our members know, would you like comments on both leader and follower?

Also, congratulations on your first competition in standard! Did you enjoy?

I am not a standard expert, but I do hope those more qualified to comment will be along soon.

3. and123

and123 Well-Known Member

quick first impression: not enough lowering, so movement/shape/swing is limited; too vertical.

4. CTSalsa

CTSalsa New Member

Thank you for the welcom LG. I am the lead, but any comments on the follow is fine too. I agree with you and123. I was really nervous and concentrating on dancing my center so much that I think I looked rather stiff.

5. and123

and123 Well-Known Member

Better than NOT moving :p

Curious - what is "Pre-Novice"? Looked like some non-syllabus steps in there. If so, bonus points for attempting that level at your first Standard comp.

6. CTSalsa

CTSalsa New Member

"Better than Not moving." Ha ha ha. I was almost at that point. You should see the first round of waltz which I am too embarassed to post for the public to see. I was really nervous and kept forgetting the routine every time we ran into other couples on the floor. Basically we didn't get a chance to dance the 2nd half of the rountine. We pretty much repeated 2 step figures over and over. I was suprised we got called back.