General Dance Discussion > Gripe: Self-appointed teachers

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by jennyisdancing, Nov 8, 2007.

1. jennyisdancing

jennyisdancing Active Member

I have a little gripe that goes beyond the usual complaint about people who try to teach you on the dance floor.

There's a guy in one of my classes who is a self-appointed 'expert' :rolleyes:. He corrected me in class, as if he was the teacher. Very common annoyance - but this guy goes even farther.

When we chatted after class, this fellow told me he's "working with" a couple of people in some practice sessions that he has arranged, and he offered for me to join in. He said this with some authority, so right away I asked him "oh, are you a teacher?" "Well, no..." was his answer. "What kind of training do you have?" "Well, I've been dancing for four years..." Also he said he wanted to "give back to the dance community." Um - give back? I was thinking, who is he, Mikhail Baryshnikov? :p
    (Note: I've been dancing for many more years than this guy and would never presume myself as someone in the position to 'give back'.)

This fellow is actually a decent dancer but what an attitude! I don't mind at all if someone makes friendly suggestions about my dancing and I can do the same. But this guy is just a patronizing putz IMO. I can handle jerks all right, but what really bugs me is that the self-appointed 'teachers' are disrespecting the real, experienced, and well-trained dance teachers who deserve to be appreciated (and paid) for their expertise. Is there anything that can be done?

2. lil glam gal

lil glam gal New Member

i know exactly what you mean. When I was younger at my last dance school a girl used to think that she was better than everyone else and started criticizing everyone else's dancing when she had only been going a FEW MONTHS!

3. Larinda McRaven

Larinda McRaven Site Moderator Staff Member