General Dance Discussion > Help a Fighter Dance

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by igorawryo, Jan 18, 2010.

1. igorawryo

igorawryo New Member

So first and foremost im a wrestler and a fighter. I have ZERO dance knowledge. So even being on this website is new grounds for me.

One of my closest friends is a dancer. I was recently fooling around and throwing her using fighting moves (obviously i wasnt slamming her) I would just modify some fighting moves by throwing her and then on her way down controlling the throw so that she lands nicely.

Anyways, the point is I had alot of fun and im getting into dancing. I want to learn some more dance lifts and throws or whatever so I was wondering if somebody could help me with the following points:

- Id like to know where i can go to learn lifts and stuff step by step.

- Being a fighter im strong but id like to do more dance focused work outs that will help me on lifting her and other things.

- Safety tips and other suggestions

Thanks ahead of time.

2. Larinda McRaven

Larinda McRaven Site Moderator Staff Member

Where are you located?

3. suburbaknght

suburbaknght Well-Known Member

First, welcome to Dance Forum!

Second, thank you for your interest in learning these tricks safely. A lot of "dancers" have tried to teach themselves aerial patterns (terminology: "aerial" refers to any step in which one partner is not supporting their own weight, and may include dips, lifts, jumps, and drops) with the usual result being injury.