General Dance Discussion > Hi, I'm new here :)

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Marianne, Apr 20, 2003.

1. Marianne

Marianne New Member

Hey!
    I accidently ran into this forum actually.
    I've been practicing balroom dancing for a few years. I'd also been dancing ballet for 9 years and I'm also into jazz.

I just wanted to know...
    who are the people in this forum? what ages? where from?
    just to realize where I am I guess.... thanks!

8)

XXX
    Hugs!
    Marianne.

2. Spitfire

Spitfire Well-Known Member

Welcome Marianne, :D

I'm only a social dancer but have been doing it this time around for 8 years, but first took it up 22 years ago.

There are a lot of people who cross over to ballroom from ballet, tap and jazz. I think most of the women instructors from the studio I attend have a background in this.

Tom

3. DanceMentor

DanceMentor Administrator

Hi Marianne,
    Welcome to the Dance Forums!
    While we haven't had much conversation about ballet and jazz yet, it would be a welcome addition. I think you'll find there are dancers from many different backgrounds here in the forums including Swing, Salsa, Ballroom, Tango and Hip Hop. Personally, I am a ballroom dance instructor and also perform tango. I've also had some lessons in ballet, jazz and tap, but I could learn more. I once did a Fred and Ginger routine where I had to learn some jazz and tap. BTW, I played Fred. :) Right now, I'm hoping to learn a Michael Jackson routine and hopefully do an impersonation later on (for fun and laughs).

I hope you will post more messages and get to know us. Thanks for introducing yourself.

Kind Regards,
    David

4. SDsalsaguy

SDsalsaguy Administrator Staff Member

Let me add my "welcome" as well! :D