Salsa > How do I get asked to dance

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by curious1, May 24, 2009.

1. curious1

curious1 New Member

Hello all. I've been dancing salsa for about 2 yrs now and one particular thing always bothers me when I go out. As a black female, I notice that I don't get asked to dance nearly as often as other females present. Believe me, I do NOT want to play the race card here. I have thought of everything from changing my body language (making sure my arms aren't crossed, smiling, making conversation, etc), to going out every week, to sitting in highly visible areas by myself and nothing seems to work. At first I thought that maybe it was because I was new to the scene. But after going out every week for months on end, nothing has changed and I notice that women of other races who are new have no problem being asked. The places I attend are as multicultural as you're going to get for the South.
    I consider myself an intermediate dancer who is pretty attractive, although this does not appear to make a difference for other women being asked. And yes, I know I can go up and ask a guy to dance, but I'm curious as to why I don't get asked like everyone else. This phenomenon occurs with the other black females present as well. Once again, I'm only asking because I constantly find myself getting discouraged in social situations and I can't improve my following skills if I don't dance. I don't want to give up salsa, I'm just tired of being frustrated. Your honest answers appreciated

2. etp777

etp777 Active Member

Welcome to DF, Curious1. I've only been out salsa dancing a couple times, so I can't help on that question, but I'm sure someone else will be along to help you.

3. curious,

maybe you are too pretty, maybe you are too good

if no one ask you well ask them

i have the same problem with beginners not wanting to ask me and only advanced dancers (not a lot in my area) ask me

however, beginners are very happy if I ask them to dance