General Dance Discussion > How do I get what I really want?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Sunsetdancer, Jan 25, 2017.

1. Sunsetdancer

Sunsetdancer Member

I've been dancing for many, many, many years and only recently discovered what I really wanted from dancing. And I'm wondering how many others have felt the same way. Sooo, without listing the normal, mundane answers; exercise, social interaction, health, etc. ...
    What do you get from your dancing, and why?

chomsky likes this.
  2. IndyLady

IndyLady Well-Known Member

I think we already have threads on this topic... I've run across at least two of them in the last week.

I sometimes wonder why we feel the urge to spend so much time analyzing and discussing why we dance, when most of the reasons are obvious as you say... trying to picture basketball players or avid scrapbookers having in-depth conversations about why they like their hobby.

chomsky likes this.
  3. raindance

raindance Well-Known Member

What was it that you finally discovered you wanted (still want?) from dancing??? Exercise, social interaction, or something else??

chomsky and Sunsetdancer like this.
  4. DanceMentor

DanceMentor Administrator

Yes, I had a similar question. It seems you told us that you found what you really want at last, but then you didn't tell us what that was! Come on now. We are anticipating your next post. :)

For me, I think the benefits that I perceive change. So I am open to multiple benefits that may occur at different times. I just know overall that I really like what dancing has given me even though I can't specify everything in a simple sentence.

Sunsetdancer likes this.
  5. opendoor

opendoor Well-Known Member

Hey, please tell :)

Sunsetdancer likes this.
  6. snapdancer

snapdancer Well-Known Member

Why wouldn't the "normal mundane" factors you list be enough reason?

IndyLady, Sunsetdancer and raindance like this.
  7. Sunsetdancer

Sunsetdancer Member