How long did it take you to learn Salsa?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by H2ObugS, Nov 23, 2004.

1. H2ObugS

H2ObugS New Member

1) I'm curious how long did it take you to learn Salsa (from complete beginner to comfortably dancing in clubs)? What were the phases you went thru to become a better dancer (I'm male)?

2) I have been learning Salsa for 8 months now (8 hours a week) and I'm ready to move from the studio to club dancing. What were your experiences in this transition? Any advice? People in the clubs dance differently than students in studios. Will taking higher classes help (I'm a novice)?

3) My goal is to keep it simple, smooth, and get good at dancing with the music (I learned LA style). Should I go back to the studio to take more classes or take private lessons, join a dance company, or other options that you can think of? I wish to keep learning and dancing Salsa without burning a big hole in my wallet.

Thanks greatly.
    Ting

2. Sagitta

Sagitta Well-Known Member

I have been doing salsa little over a year now and am still a beginner.

3. dTas

dTas New Member

if you've never been in the clubs before then you're in for a shock! those guys can dance!

it also depends on what you've been learning in the studio but its like anything else in life. the classroom is nothing like the real world.

if the club offers a lesson before they start dancing then show up for that. it will help "clubbify" you.

4. peachexploration

peachexploration New Member

Hi H20BugS. Welcome. I'm still learning as well and still a beginner after three years. :lol: I recommend you go out to a club and get your dance shoes scuffed up a bit. :wink: :)

5. Vin

Vin New Member

I have been dancing on and off for about 3 years now. (On for the past 1.5 years) I do feel comfortable dancing in the clubs but I still have lots of room for improvement.