General Dance Discussion > How many people fly the friendly skies?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Tinydancergirl, Apr 23, 2008.

1. Cause they are not looking too friendly right now! Delta and Northwest just posted big losses. Jammed flights, high fares, delays will affect airlines, customers. And of course, us ballroom dancers! So here's my question(s) for all you experienced travelers: We all know the costs involved in attending a comp. Costly, to say the least, not including your time and effort. So how does one prepare for the unexpected? Such as delayed flights, cancelled flights? I am a novice at airtravel and I am tentitively planning on attending Ohio in November. Is there such a thing as insurance for cancelled flights? How about trip insurance? I guess what I'm saying, in a nutshell, is there anyway to recoup losses in cases of cancelled, flights and events?
    Tinydancergirl

2. Katarzyna

Katarzyna Well-Known Member

most airlines will refund you if they cancel your flight... but than you will miss your event... (or you can always to a LONG drive like we did 2 years ago for Ohio... and I mean LONG!!!!!! got there few hours before our event)

3. Lorelei

Lorelei Member

There is some insurance offered by priceline.com when you book a ticket. Change of plans, illness, etc. I never used it though... Does anyone have experience getting such an insurance and actually having the insured event occur? Is it worth it?

4. skwiggy

skwiggy Well-Known Member

All I know is, NEVER check your costumes or your dance shoes. Always carry on. :)

5. Mandicraft

Mandicraft Active Member

I fly about twice a week, so I'll try to help you out with your questions.

While you can't exactly prepare for the unexpected, here are some tips.