General Dance Discussion > How often do you take lessons?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by atk, Mar 19, 2007.

1. atk

atk Active Member

In another thread, somewhere, someone mentioned being completely obsessed with dancing.

I'm just wondering how often people go out dancing, take lessons (group and private), and how long they've been dancing. For myself, I'm at the local AM studio every night of the week (Except Sundays) taking group lessons, or practicing, for 1 to 4 hours. I take two private lessons per week, both shared with my partner. But I only manage to go out maybe 1 night every month or two. Oh, and I've been dancing for just about 3 years.

What about you?

2. Indiana_Jay

Indiana_Jay Active Member

My lw and I are also AM students. We take a private lesson every other week. We go to the studio dance almost every week. When we started, we were taking two group classes a week but lately, it's been 0-1 groups per week because of schedule conflicts. Almost every week we attend an open studio dance at one of the other studios in town. We also attend three monthly social dances at various locations near our home (including the one hosted by the local USA Dance chapter). This July, it will have been two years since we started dancing.

-IJ

3. Peaches

Peaches Well-Known Member

Private lesson about once a week with once teacher; double private lesson every other week with my other teacher.

Two group classes on Tuesdays. Group class every other Friday.

Dancing maybe about once a week, on average.

4. Laura

Laura New Member

If I tell you will you promise not to hold it against me? Sometimes when these threads come up and people answer, weird arguments about unfairness with respect to one's disposable income and dancing crop up.

5. Indiana_Jay

Indiana_Jay Active Member

Laura, I promise it won't bother me. We know that you are not one to flaunt your blessings and would not intentionally belittle anyone with fewer resources.

6. Peaches