Salsa > How on earth do leaders confuse the 1 and the 5?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by nycsalsero, Sep 25, 2006.

1. nycsalsero

nycsalsero Member

The title says it all. Some people, even relatively advanced dancers, will dance 123-567- as 567-123-!!! If this happens to me even for a second, I HAVE to fix it before continuing, I almost physically can't dance if it's wrong. I don't understand how anyone can confuse these things, after progressing beyond a basic level. And I pity the women that must dance with them....

On a related note, my pet peeve in salsa songs is when the music goes 123-123-567, that is, there is a little hiccup in the usual 4-4 time. Why on earth do bands play songs that do this?? You would have to MEMORIZE the song to avoid screwing up those parts. These bands must think they are so clever, making everyone screw up by doing that....

2. You must be talking of me - I have no musical background at all and am very happy to hear the 1 and the 5. And as long as I stay on the first beat most followers dont care. These who do really care start by themselfes. The steps remain the same.

And let me tell you - dancing on 5 also is fun for me :). Please do not discriminate the ON5 Dancers and dont be a "Countracist" ;-).

3. sac76

sac76 New Member

agree but isnt it nicer if we all Leaders dance on 123 instead of 567? guys any suggestions how to differentiate 123 and 567? Sometimes both are exactly same and its so bloody difficult to differentiate unless we watch the more advanced dancers dancing. Guys how to rectify this? any suggestions?

For 123 123-567 just step in place othe first 123 and break again.....this is time for u to do body groove...

4. sweavo

sweavo New Member

Heheh. The reasons they confuse the 1 and the 5 are many:

1) "music" per se goes on 4 beat bars rather than 8 beat phrases
    2) Though the clave is 2 bars long, it does not indicate which is the 1 and which is the 5