Swing Discussion Boards > How to dip...not drop!

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by East Coast Bluesboy, Mar 12, 2013.

1. First of all, I'm new to Dance Forums. I was going to start a separate thread just introducing myself, but that seems a bit wasteful. If you want to know more about me, just visit my profile. Anyway, on with my question/situation...

A couple months ago at a swing dance venue, they were giving a short, intermediate swing group lesson, and they taught us how to do dips. I finally figured it out after a while, so after the lesson was over and the dance floor opened for the night, I asked a lady to dance (she was a beginner) and tried to dip her at the end of the song. The first part was my fault...I was just in closed position and tried to immediately put my left hand behind her back for a dip instead of properly turning into it. She got confused and didn't seem to know what I was doing, and once I finally dipped her, she put all her weight back in my hands, and then...THUMP!...she hit the floor! My face turned as red as a fire truck, I apologized, she thanked me anyway, and I walked away, never to see her again. For the next few months, I was deathly afraid to try any more dips.