Swing Discussion Boards > How to lead hustle?

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by bookish, Mar 26, 2011.

1. bookish

bookish Active Member

Hi! I've been reading the forum for a while, have learned a lot already, and thought I'd pose my first question. There's a local (university club) social dance venue I go to regularly that plays a lot of hustles, so I'm trying to get better at the dance. Unfortunately, it makes less sense to me than pretty much any other dance, including the ones I don't know yet...

My core question is, how do you actually lead hustle, of any variety? Although I'm still a beginner/improver overall, I feel I have a "reasonable" grasp of lead/follow in the other dances I do (variety of swing/latin/ballroom), but not hustle.

Is there a body lead in hustle? Is it anything like the body lead in swing? It doesn't seem to be. In WCS (which I adore) I feel like I'm guiding the follower's momentum throughout (most of) the dance. In hustle it's more like we're walking around in ways that hopefully coordinate and I get some input into turns.

Are the oppositional back breaks led, or does the follower "just do" them? And how do you create/guide momentum coming out of them? In a latin technique class recently I did learn about using a body lead to send the follower back before breaking back myself, but that takes an extra bit of time and most hustle (especially if it's &123) seems too fast to make it work.