Swing Discussion Boards > I need to get out of my head . . .

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by demoiselle, Aug 6, 2014.

1. demoiselle

demoiselle Active Member

I am a beginner swing dancer/follower, just moving beyond level one classes (ie, making the stumbling transition between six-count steps and eight count/swingouts). Over the last two months, I've also gotten more serious about improving and have started going regularly to practice parties.

Although I follow what I know well and am improving a lot (especially in keeping my pulse going, which has been my personal project for the last few weeks), I can certainly tell I'm a very "heady" dancer. At the practice parties, the pros have both taken to pushing me to be more loose and playful, improvising a bit in time with the music. One, when asked, did in fact say she was messing with me to get me out of my head.

And I think that that is necessary for me! I need to feel like there is time within the beats to play around.

Any tips on how to improve, loosen up, get out of my head?

(Or am I, by asking this question, over-thinking it, and this is a just skill that will come in time if I "keep moving to the music/don't stop" (what the other pro told me to do last night)?

2. Loki

Loki Well-Known Member

Allow yourself to screw up and go with the flow. You're not being marked.

I can be very technical myself, so I can empathize with your "in-the-head" frame of mind.

(Oooh! I just amazed myself with the number of nuances in *that* statement! <howl>)

demoiselle likes this.
  3. Bailamosdance

Bailamosdance Well-Known Member