Salsa > Is Salsa turning into a circus?

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by NZ Girl, Oct 17, 2005.

1. NZ Girl

NZ Girl New Member

Hello everyone, I am a first timer from New Zealand.

I recently saw some clips online from the Mayan Salsa Competition and it looks like a circus! How can they call that Salsa?

Sure, a few tricks here and there are good, but I think some of these people have lost the plot?

Salsa is not about screaming for attention it is about your relationship with the music, letting the music move you - and "capturing" the audience - not SCREAMING FOR THEIR ATTENTION ;)

If you need to do a bunch of acrobatics to get attention - then you can't dance.

PS - Please don't send hate mail, I am only a newbie :)

2. lynn

lynn New Member

Welcome!!

:banana:

3. genEus

genEus New Member

While I agree with what you're saying, there is a different side to this. How can you call English what we speak in the United States? Now I hear my co-worker ask me "Do you got a stapler on you?" -- Language evolves, music evolves, dancing evolves. Take it for what it is. You can make salsa your own through what you hear in the music and letting the music move you. Call yourself old fashioned if you wish but I'm sure you'll have a lot of people on your side.

So, sit back and enjoy the acrobatics. They're flashy and hard to master, afterall, aren't they?

Oh yeah, welcome! :)

4. Rosa

Rosa New Member

You don't get hate mail on DF! 8) :D

Welcome! :D

Rosa :)

5. Big10

Big10 Member

I've never been to the Mayan, but it's my understanding the audiences in Los Angeles (and especially at that club) respond very favorably to acrobatics -- so the competitors are just giving the crowd what they want. The first round winners (and maybe even the second round) are determined based on crowd noise, so that's another factor as well. If I'm wrong, then hopefully one of the DF posters from the L.A. area can provide better insight.