General Dance Discussion > Is social dancing really social? (young student)

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by EddyP, Jul 20, 2015.

1. EddyP

EddyP Member

hello, I am quite new here, this is my first post and I wanted to discuss something related to social dancing

I am fairly new to partner dance, having been a street dancer for awhile i wanted to explore other things, ive gotten lots of good experience so far but i now find myself at a loss..

being a street dancer for so long cemented my idea of what dance is or should be, which was for people to share together, after all i do believe dance is initially a method of communication, for example a performer communicates to his or her audience, a leader and a follower communicate with eachother as well as a possible audience.

coming in the social dance world I was excited to learn these steps and patterns which are intertwined with another persons steps n patterns. i thought to myself "ahh so this is social dancing" and i kept practicing and practicing

started having a lot of people telling me how good i got and if i could teach them something, of course i didnt feel comfortable teaching as i still consider myself a beginner.

I started researching online for anything i could find, history, videos, heck even older dancers facebook profiles, their studios, anything.

for the record, Im not from a town where I can find millions of social dancers.