Knee and ankle and heel ...For the beginner

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by ben00008, Nov 4, 2016.

1. ben00008

ben00008 New Member

Hello everyone,

First of all, sorry for my bad english, but i didn't find any good french forum about dance...
    I am a real real beginner in swing ( and in dancing ), i am trying to learn charleston since once month (5h/day :) )....I really love this music, i have seen about 100 very very good vidéos to help me to learn it !...Well, but i am trying to understand something, and i don't have the good answer, and i want to learn the correct way...

For the bounce...When i dance i see two ways to do that...
    With my knee when my "feet is down" (on the ground)...
    Or with my ankle when "my heel is up" (my leg is not straight, but my knee doesn't really work for the bounce (i fell this), only the fingers are on the ground)...
    Is it correct or not ? Do i have to try to work also with the knee for the bounce in that second case (seem difficult to me but may be not impossible ;-) ).
    I don't know if i am really clear...

Also must the bounce should be regular or with accent ? ...
    1light/1heavy/&light/1heavy ?
    Or it depends ?
    Or as i like ?

Thanks very much !!!! :).

2. ben00008

ben00008 New Member

hum, no answers may be i wasn't enought clear ? ...
    Or the question was a stupid one ? ...
    Could you tell me what was in your mind in front of theses questions ?

3. FancyFeet

FancyFeet Well-Known Member

We love to dance, and are generally a welcoming and helpful bunch, but your questions are really big and broad, which makes them hard to answer... The general answer you're likely to get in response to your first post: You can't learn to dance over the internet, no matter how much video you watch. Find a teacher or a class, and try it out.