Tango Argentino > Leadership and how it arises

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by All Sales Are Final, Apr 7, 2015.

1. Hello friends,

Several of you helped me out with a few very useful pointers half a year ago when I was just beginning. I'm still a total novice, of course, but since then I've taken maybe 40 private lessons, attended a similar number of group classes, done hundreds of hours of practice at home and been to maybe a couple dozen milongas, though I don't usually dance more than three or four tandas. I can do some basic stuff like cruzada, ocho, and molinete, but not much else. Suits me fine for the moment.

I'm wondering whether I'm nearing the point where I should be thinking about leadership, or whether it's still too early. This isn't my own idea: I didn't really give this a thought until recently, but women I dance with (primarily my partner) say that I'm nice enough to dance with but don't really "lead it". I can't pretend I understand what that means, though. I guess it really refers to me struggling to keep up with the other dancer, rather than being decisive about the dance.

Do you need to take specific steps to attain this "leadership", or does it arise as a construct of experience? I suppose it's hardly surprising that I'm apparently not "leading it" at the moment, since in all pairings I am the less experienced dancer.

I've gotten a lot of feedback along these lines from women, but it would be good to get a male perspective. Do you "lead it"? Does this mean being more assertive in some way, or a step or two ahead of the other person, or is it just a mindset that arises spontaneously? Is it something concrete? I'd be nervous about being a step or more ahead, because I want to be in time with the music and not spoil that.