Leading or Choreography?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by ViviDancer, May 19, 2011.

1. ViviDancer

ViviDancer Member

Hey guys, I have an honest question about standard ballroom dancing that I've been wondering for awhile now and I was hoping you guys who have much more dancing experience would be kind enough to answer it.

Well the question is fairly simple, in a competition, does the male lead and female follow purely without any choreograph or is there a whole choreograph or parts of a choreograph prepared for it?

I know that in social dancing, all that is used is lead because that allows you to dance with anyone you want. But what about in a competition?

When I started learning, my first teacher told me that everything is done purely through lead and follow. My current teacher says that a choreograph is always needed and both partners do their parts and sync together rather than a lead and follow.

Other dancers that I know have different opinions on this issue. Some tell me it is choreography while others say every single step is thought of on the spot while on the dance floor. However, we're all rather new to ballroom dancing so none of us actually has the experience to prove it.

I know that it is possible to do both, which is the one that is usually done at amateur/professional level? And if so, the pros and cons of both of them? Why don't dancers use the other kind?

Forgive me if this seems like a silly question, but I'm just a curious guy :friend: Thanks in advance for your words of wisdom :)

Edit: Oh and I apologize if there is a current tread about this topic. I couldn't find any related thread using the search button.

2. madmaximus

madmaximus Well-Known Member

In Ballroom Modern, couples typically go through distinct phases (particularly those with high-level competition as the goal).

When we first begin to dance, we are taught figures (groups of steps usually in 2-4 measures).