Swing Discussion Boards > Learning Lindy

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by danceguy, Oct 16, 2003.

1. danceguy

danceguy New Member

Greetings,

I have a question for everyone about Lindy Hop. I started taking lessons a few weeks back and was going to drop the class, but today I decided to go back and now I'm determined to learn it. I'm still a beginner with Swing and dance in general, so my apologies in advance if I mis-label something. :wink:

I've been working on learning the Swing Out...and my main question is in regards to getting dizzy. I think part of it in my case is that I have some muscular problems in my head and neck...so these areas are pretty sensitive to spinning in general. As I'm very new to this dance style I'm really working on trying to feel the music and the motion..so my poor attempts at spotting are going out the window most of the time.

Towards the end of class today I noticed that during the triple steps I would end up only doing two...(I think its my other dance training)...so I finally became aware that I was trying to over compensate for missing a step and then moving too fast...then I'd lose my timing. After one of the teachers gave me some corrections...I started to feel the flow with my partner and it felt really groovy...but my head was still spinning. :oops:

I really do enjoy this dance...but man does it make me dizzy! Any tips of advice on how I could correct this would be greatly appreciated! :)

Many thanks,

Scorpionguy

2. suek

suek New Member

Scorpionguy, relax. This phase passes. For me it took about six months. Six months of wondering if I would ever be able to do a swingout without reeling. And now no problem, even bunches in a row.