Tango Argentino > Learning to Play Bandoneon

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by tangomonkey, May 7, 2011.

1. tangomonkey

tangomonkey Active Member

I have this idea that I'd like to learn to play the bandoneon. Anyone play, or learning to play? If so, where did you get an instrument? Do you take lessons or are you self-taught? What resources do you use - can you recommend lesson books or some helpful internet sites?

Thanks.

2. opendoor

opendoor Well-Known Member

In my basement. Once I remembered that I use to play a squeeze box when I was a young student. We had a folk band, I played guitar till I found that a concertina would fit into the line up. On the fish marked of St. Pauli (red light district of my town, where the ships with all the emigrants left for BsAs in the last centuries) I saw an age old sailor offering an instrument. He only got this thing. So I think it was kind of destiniy to meet him there. When I started to dance tango I remembered that there was something in my cellar, and yes, it was no concertina, it was an bandoneón.

Both. Try to walk on on your own and have lesson to get corrected.

Sign up in the yahoo bando group and ask.. You can also ask if someone actually plans to sell his intrument. http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/bandoneon/

http://www.inorg.chem.ethz.ch/tango/band/bandoneon.html

3. tangomonkey

Nice story!

Do you play regularly? I've read it is a very difficult instrument to play. Did you find that to be true?

Thanks for the links.

4. opendoor