Swing Discussion Boards > Learning to swing dance on a budget

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by East Coast Bluesboy, Mar 13, 2013.

1. This is actually a continuation of my thread I posted yesterday on dips. Anyway, here's my predicament...

I've been swing dancing for about nine months now. I fell in love with it as soon as I started learning. My scene has dances about five days a week, and I go to all of them except Tuesday, which is the group lessons. Tuesday nights are always busy for me, so I never can make it out. Other than that, I pretty much go to every swing dance there is. On Friday nights, they give a beginner group lesson before the dance, which is included in the cover charge. That's how I really started learning...just through those quick lessons. But they always teach the same basic things to cater to the beginners. They'll teach a new move once in a blue moon, but very seldom is it anything exciting. So as I'm sure you can imagine, after doing the same basic steps for nine months, I'm getting a bit bored. I want to learn some new stuff like dips and some lindy hop swingouts.

The problem is that, as I said, the only group lessons they give in my scene are the Tuesday night classes, which I can't make due to prior commitments, and the Friday night lessons, which I go to, but they never teach anything new. The only other option is private lessons. I have taken two private lessons so far, and I could hardly afford those. Swing dance lessons from my local instructors run from $50-$100. Call me a cheapskate, but that is way too expensive for me. As much as I want to be a better dancer, I'm not spending my entire life savings on dance lessons.

So on to my question...does anyone know of any ways to learn some new stuff without spending a fortune? Cheap classes that aren't on Tuesdays? Video lessons? Anything?

2. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

What kind of swing? There at least several major styles.