Swing Discussion Boards > Lindy hop: lead/follow and rhythm help?

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by Lyndee, Apr 1, 2009.

1. Lyndee

Lyndee New Member

Okay, so my boyfriend is really interested in swing and has been coming with me to the swing dances the swing club at our school puts on.

I've been doing swing dancing for almost four years now (I started with East Coast swing, and learned lindy hop about a year later). My boyfriend is pretty new to it - maybe a couple months.

Anyway, here's my question: he's really having trouble with leading (I suspect my following skills aren't what they once were, as well - it isn't all his fault) and also with rhythm and his basic lindy step in general.

I've been trying to train him as I can, but he's been so used to dancing at punk-rock shows and ska concerts that he can be pretty rowdy on the dance floor ha ha. :p

So, what can I do to help him with swing? We need help with arm tension and weight distribution, posture etc, but mainly with getting the rhythm down and the lead/follow basics. Should I teach him east coast swing to get the basic principles down, then apply those principles to lindy?

(Sorry for the long queston!)

2. Flat Shoes

Flat Shoes New Member

Go for Lindy, it shouldn't be more difficult to learn good leading skills in Lindy than in ECS.

It is not possible to learn to dance and lead and follow from reading, but I can try to give some tips.

Rhythm is learned from listening as well as dancing. Listenenig to the kind of music you're dancing to will familiarize you with the rhythm and how tunes are built up. The brain learns to understand the music.