Listening to the beat help needed

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by SexyMan2Cha, Nov 17, 2005.

1. SexyMan2Cha

SexyMan2Cha New Member

Hi all,

I'm a struggling student and my teacher has grown pretty frustrated with over a bunch of things, I'm not making progress. One of my problems is "hearing the beat". I know there's been threads about this before but can't really find what I'm looking for. I'll typically hear the 1 beat and sometimes the 4, but the 2 and 3, I barely ever hear. My teacher told me to listen for a consistent beat in the background. I have trouble filtering out everything else and just listening to the beat.

If you used to have trouble hearing the beat, what were some useful things you did to help this? (Other then listening to music). We're (were it seems now) working on rumba and cha.

Thanks
  2. Another Elizabeth

Another Elizabeth Active Member

You will feel like a goof, but it helps to clap to the beat, instead of just listening for it. Getting used to doing something to move your body with the beat will make it easier to do in in practice (and also will allow your partner and/or your friends to critique you, instead of paying an instructor to tell you you're off-time).
  3. SexyMan2Cha

SexyMan2Cha New Member

lol, and I've been doing too much of that lately.
  4. Ms_Sunlight

Ms_Sunlight New Member

Another Elizabeth is right.

Get yourself a simple percussion instrument if you like -- a music store will sell you a small hand drum or wood sticks or maracas or a triangle very cheaply -- or just use your hands. Put on some simple music. Clap to the beat.

If you're trying to find the beat and dance at the same time, that's a lot to take in at once. Try finding your rhythm without multitasking it with moves. It's just a case of practice. Besides, it can be quite good fun being your own percussion section!
  5. tanya_the_dancer

tanya_the_dancer Well-Known Member