Tango Argentino > Media Luna (Half Moon)

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Clive, Sep 3, 2010.

1. Clive

Clive New Member

I'm a relative beginner, and trying to sort out in my mind the difference between the follower's action in the 'Media Luna', and the normal pattern typically known as the Giro or Molinette. They seem to be essentially the same. Am I missing something?

2. Nope, you're right.

3. JohnEm

JohnEm Well-Known Member

Yes, try not to obsess about names and patterns.

The follower's action should always be a consequence of your lead (you move her),
    and your next lead is a consequence of her action (she moves) and your reaction (then you move).

To satisfy your curiosity and hoping not to get stuck on names, a Giro is really
    any turn but tango people tend to assign it to a specific pattern (there we go again)
    resulting in a 360 degree turn. You both execute the Giro but she does a
    molinette or grapevine. As far as I know a Media Luna is semi-circle by
    the woman around the man so essentially half a giro in a clockwise direction.
    But I have never been taught it with that name.

4. Peaches

Peaches Well-Known Member

Typically speaking, in its most simple and typical form, a giro/molinete is a pattern where the lady's footwork is forward/side/back/side around the man. (A grapevine pattern, done in a circle.) She can technically start at any point in that footwork, but some points are more common than others. For example, it's much more common to start a molinete with a forward step than it is a back step.

A media luna, generally speaking, is essentially the same as a molinete, but it doesn't include the backwards step.

There are nuances, but as a beginner definition for a beginner learner, that should get you by.

5. tangobro

tangobro Active Member

sometimes the terms media luna (1/2 moon) and media vuelta (1/2 turn) are interchanged

is this what you mean by media luna ?
    see :20 - :30