Need advice for my first Swing competition!

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by SPratt74, May 26, 2006.

1. SPratt74

SPratt74 New Member

I am so excited that I finally get to go to my first Swing competition! I'm also nervous, because I don't know what to expect. I just know what our instructors have handed out. So, I need advice for everything from what to wear to cost to what to bring with me. It's not until July though, so I have plenty of time to learn from you all!

Oh and what do they mean by like Pro-Ams? It says on the flyer: Jack & Jills, Strictly Swings, Pro-Ams, Workshops, Lots of Social Dancing, and Late Night Dancing. It does say that the first night is free, and that there will be a Pre-Party. What's a Pre-Party though? Is that like a class or just a party?

So, thanks in advance for any advice! I'm really glad that I've been learning Swing from my instructor lol! And I know that I've complained that he's to technical for me, since I am just a beginner, but it might pay off since they say that there will be cash prizes at this event lol! Next time just tell me to shush if I start complaining about my instructors lol! ;)
  2. randomMysh

randomMysh New Member

Is it a Westie comp? Sounds like it...hmmm, July...Phoenix??

Okay, assuming it's a Westie comp indeed, here's what you want to know:

Pro-Am is when an instructor competes with a student. Only the student is judged unless the instructor messes something up, and then that is factored into the student's performance. ProAms are much more popular in Ballroom than in WCS for some reason.

If you are going to a Westie comp, you absolutely want to compete in Jack and Jill, 'cause that's how you get points, and also 'cause that's what WCS events are all about. Even if you don't do well, it doesn't matter, do it anyway. Hey, you're there, might as well, right?