Ballroom Dance > New dancer and forum member.

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by entheos, Nov 19, 2017.

1. entheos

entheos Member

Hello everyone.

I've been looking for an online dance forum to be a part of. Glad I found this one.

I started exploring the world of ballroom dancing about a month ago. I've had no prior dance experience. I've only had a few private instructions and group classes so far. I felt a bit overwhelmed and clumsy at first, but with every lesson and practice I grow more in confidence.

I was looking for a new interest to grow with. To be a part of a community. Something interactive. A friend mentioned ballroom dancing and so I just went with it. I didn't really know what to expect and it was beyond my comfort zone, but I'm glad I did it.

It's hard work and lot's of practice, but it's definitely rewarding and fun. I'm not sure how far I can go or if I want to compete in the future, but I'm giving it my all and I'm curious to find out.

Most of my relationships have been ending or moving on. I'm single and the only other thing in my life that takes up time is my full time job. So I'm pouring most of my focus into this.

I'm creating a new life for myself. I want to put myself in situations where things can happen. Where new things and relationships can grow.

At the studio I'm surrounded by amazing, positive, and supportive people. I want to do my best and gain the skills necessary for me to be able to give back to this community. To be able to contribute. To share the struggles and the victories.

I was very happy when I was able to do a boxstep and lasted a whole song doing it. I enjoy learning the basics.

Dancing has helped me express myself. It helps me become more of the better person that I want to be. I'm failing while doing something interesting. Something that has no guarantees and might not work. I'm facing fears and uncertainties.