Swing Discussion Boards > Not too happy with my local dancing scene

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by juwest333, Sep 6, 2012.

1. juwest333

juwest333 Active Member

Please forgive me if I sound like some kind of dancing snob. I really don't mean to be, but let me explain.

My local dancing venue caters to new dancers and beginners who are just there to have fun and that's fine. People need to make their money, but what about people who want to move beyond the beginner/intermediate levels? I have been dancing in the Lindy Hop Swing scene for about six months now and have attended a little over 50 dancing events, 4 exchanges and have entered two Jack & Jill competitions. I take classes every week, but I feel like it's being wasted because at the local venue, the majority (80% or so) don't even know how to do a swingout or even a basic charleston and it's seriously bothering me when all I can do is smile and only do the moves that my partner was taught in the one-hour free lesson that they give before each dance.

And as far as the classes go (the 8-week seesions that are taught by the same instructors who also run the dance events), no one seems to take the classes seriously. They don't go to dancing events to practice what they learned. They don't attend all of the classes for the session and the instructors constantly have to go back to review what was missed. Some drop out of the classes altogether or attend sporadically which causes even more delays.

I know I have only been dancing for six months, but how can someone possibly improve in an environment like this? Whenever I go to a lindy exchange, I feel extremely out-classed by the skill level that's present there. I just recently spent $300 dollars on a DVD set from these two world-class instructors so that I could train and practice alone.

Has anyone else experienced this? Other than moving to a new dancing venue, what would you do in this situation?

2. bookish

bookish Active Member