Ohio Star ball - "Collegiate" comp...yeah right

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by Casayoto, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Casayoto

Casayoto Member

Why is it that the Collegiate National Championships are always overrun by non-students? When I was a student, it always annoyed me to see people competing(and winning) who I knew for a fact weren't students. Now that I'm an alumni, I feel like the only person that respects the rules. Every time I get asked if I'm going, I say "no, I'm not a student". The answer is always something along the lines of, "So what? Neither am I.", followed by a confused look. This is the only competition in the country that I know of that specifically lists being a full time student as a requirement. Should they get rid of that rule since they don't enforce it anyway, in the same way that USA Dance got rid of the amateurs being paid rule? Or should they actually start enforcing it? Or should I just ignore the rule like everyone else and compete there?

2. etp777

etp777 Active Member

I'd vote for enforcing it.

3. BasicsFirst

BasicsFirst New Member

They probably should change rule and if I was member of appropriate association I'd lead that charge. However, I like the saying (to be applied loosely here): "Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me." If the unwritten rule is to ignore certain stated written rule, well you wouldn't have to tell me twice... I'll play the game.

4. cshorte

cshorte Member