Tango Argentino > Open or close embrace to start?

Discussion in 'Tango Argentino' started by Light Sleeper, Feb 1, 2008.

1. Light Sleeper

Light Sleeper New Member

Hi tangueros, newbie here :) Have recently browsed Paul Pellicoro's book on tango and I think he said that he believes when first learning tango - close embrace allows you to get a good grounding in technique. Now, I've not had time to fully digest this but my initial reaction is exactly the opposite - but I'm often wrong ;). Wondered what the experienced brainy tango chaps and chapesses on this forum thought about this?

best wishes
    L S

2. Peaches

Peaches Well-Known Member

I was started with close embrace. Worked for me. *shrug*

I think that if you're starting with a teacher (as opposed to in a group class where you're with other beginners) close embrace is a very good way to go. It's so much easier to feel the weight changes, or lack thereof, in close embrace which is so fundamental to the dance. And, when you don't have the fine control of your axis yet that you need, there's some compensating that can be going on. Not that compensating is something to rely on, but in the beginning it WILL be going on regardless, with just about everything.

Edit to add: One other thing is that some of the technique that you use is different between open and close embrace. Just something else to keep in mind. Truly, though, technique can be developed in many ways. And what works for one student, or one teacher, or one student-teacher combo may or may not work for anyone else. That's got to be (I imagine) one of the toughest jobs as a teacher--finding out how to teach so that different students can all learn.

3. nucat78

nucat78 Active Member

OT: Cool! Another "Rome" fan!

Interesting. The owner of my studio lets the ladies choose the embrace no matter what their level, so you see all types at group classes. I think he's more concerned about the students' personal comfort.

4. Peaches