Country and Western > overthinking the two step?

Discussion in 'Country and Western' started by skunker, May 6, 2012.

1. skunker

skunker New Member

Hey all,
    I'm a beginner taking country western two step classes. Only taken 3 classes so far (1hr each) and having trouble keeping in correct step (QQSS) as the song goes on. I tend to over think things. When I'm about to twirl a girl, I start counting in my head Quick Quick, Slow Slow and then turn her on the second slow. When you guys do the two step, are you also counting in your head or does it just come naturally to you? It does not yet feel natural to me.

I'm about to order one of those two-step instructional videos so I can practice at home.

Any tips for a beginner? Thanks.

2. pygmalion

pygmalion Well-Known Member

Hi skunker. welcome. I'm having trouble understanding the issue. You're having trouble knowing when to initiate your partner's spins?

And give yourself a break, btw. Three lessons is kinda soon to judge yourself. I'm sure you're doing fine. :-D

3. skunker

skunker New Member

Yea, good point. I also got dragged into a line dancing class and having a blast. I know line dancing is kind of looked down upon by people, but have had several compliments by the ladies hehe (whom, btw, make up 97% of the class).

This whole dancing thing started after I read a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson: "Do the things you fear...and the death of fear is certain."

I feared dancing all my life, so I just threw myself into these classes and now wish I would've done this earlier!

4. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

Counting your steps qqs s qq s s is one way, the best? the only? way to get it "into your body." Heck, I've been doing this for maybe 15 years, and by now its something I don't have to think about much, but I still mess up sometimes.

It'll fell "natural" to you when you've done it "enough times", not until!

Check out Skippy Blair answering this quesiton at this url