General Dance Discussion > Pet Peeve Phrases

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by Larinda McRaven, Mar 28, 2015.

1. Larinda McRaven

Larinda McRaven Site Moderator Staff Member

I have a huge pet peeve regarding the use of wrong words when teachers are describing things. As a professional I really should know what I am talking about. I would not go to a mechanic that called the steering column a "pokie stick".

Some of the most egregious offenders are:

• Center of levity. No such thing. Just say lift your sternum.
    • Centering nob. Sounds ridiculous and gross. Just say C1 and C2.
    • Any phrase that starts with "it's just kinda like..." It is NOT "just kinda like..." it either IS or it ISN'T. And as a teacher I should know that.
    • Float. But we don't... so what ARE we doing?

One of my favorite time periods in my career was the years spent coaching at MIT and Yale. Some students were horrified when another student corrected my physics or anatomy. I, however, was rather happy to learn a the correct terminology and definitions.

Anyone else get irritated by inaccurate descriptions of the body or physics?

Last edited: Mar 28, 2015
  2. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

Sounds like a joke to me.

"Knob," but agree that it is an unfortunate term for a very useful concept. Got another one besides C1 and C2?

Oh... Ah... just heading out, but, yeah.

Larinda McRaven likes this.
  3. snapdancer

snapdancer Well-Known Member

Reminds me of group class, the instructor is talking about parts of the anatomy and there are two students with medical degrees. Even though I don't know the correct names of all the body parts, I can tell that he doesn't either. The doctors aren't making an issue of it though. Guess they're used to lay terms for things and just grin and bear it.

debmc likes this.
  4. fascination

fascination Site Moderator Staff Member

is there any pacific place you'd like to go?....this one slays me

5. Steve Pastor