Swing Discussion Boards > Questions about WCS Competition

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by someoldsong, Dec 21, 2010.

1. someoldsong

someoldsong New Member

Hello, Im new here and wanted to see if anyone could help me with my questions.

I am a ballroom/latin/swing teacher in Myrtle Beach and do alot of West Coast Swing and Carolina Shag socially at the SOS functions and things of the sort on Ocean Drive.

My dance partner and I are wanting to start competing in West Coast Swing competitions. I dont believe we would be considered pro's because we havent had much experience in West Coast but I dont know where we would fall. I dont know what syllabus any competitions go by. We more or less make up everything as we go along anyway. If any of you out there know anything about these competitions please let me know. I have researched a few on the internet but I figured I would get an opinion from someone who has some experience under their belt instead of walking in blind.

Thanks so much!

2. jennyisdancing

jennyisdancing Active Member

I would suggest checking out the World Swing Dance Council, which sanctions competitions. They have a lot of good info on that site, as well as a list of sanctioned events. Unlike ballroom, WCS events focus heavily on jack-and-jill competitions; I have done those. But if you want to stick with a chosen partner, there are divisions for that. For different skill levels, there is a comp known as "strictly", where you choose your partner.

I'm not clear if you already have a coach or instructor for WCS, but if not, I would suggest contacting a current competitive WCS pro for help. They will be much more knowledgeable than I am.

3. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

Well, first off, welcome to DF.
    Then my caveat that I don't compete...
    wasn't going to go there...
    but since Jenny pointed you to the Swing Dance Council...
    there she is, Skippy Blair.