Salsa > Salsa Club Tempo of the night. As I gets later, I get more no's. Int. Leader.

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by Mysticle31, Jun 12, 2014.

1. Mysticle31

Mysticle31 New Member

Hey Dancers. I've been hitting up the Salsa clubs. I've had lots of privates, been dancing for a bit now and consider myself intermediate. I"m just down branching out to the clubs. I'm not advanced, I'm not a baby beginner. I've been staying later and later at the Salsa clubs and notice that often the better dancers come out later. You can watch the crowd change a bit. Unlike Ballrooms.

I will often dance a few, get some water and sit down, dance a few, go outside and cool off/walk around, go back and dance a few. I have noticed that the number of NO's I get also goes up as the night goes on. I can get 0-1(rare) no earlier in the night then all of a sudden come 10:30 ish I get more and more of them. Normally I just say OK and ask someone else or sit down for a song. Why is this? How do I change it?

Either:

1) I've lost dancing momentum by taking breaks and no one has seen me dance
    2) The later crowd doest know me
    3) I suck
    4) I'm doing something weird/awkward/who knows
    5) People genuinely want to take breaks, right then.

I've had this pattern of nos before. I normally dance in California. I once went to Texas and thought I'd hit up the Salsa clubs there and literally danced once. By my 5th or 6th no, might as well go back to my hotel. I find the Cali people a little more friendly.

I guess there is something about the lesson or beginning of the night that gets things flowing.

2. Mysticle31

Mysticle31 New Member

I've thought of another option. The club is more aggressive. In the ballrooms you can have a brief chat and actually ask a lady to dance. In the clubs you just smile and extend your hand - a grab and go mission. Maybe that's a possibility.

3. vit

vit Active Member