Salsa > Salsa issue...

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by squirrel, Jul 30, 2004.

1. squirrel

squirrel New Member

I have a problem and I am not sure I know how to solve it...
    Let me tell you that in my city there are around 200 Salsa dancers... about 2/3 females...
    I am a Salsa instructor and have been dancing for more than 3 years... Salsa is not very developed in Romania and I am one of the best female dancers.
    Still, guys do not invite me... Not even the most advanced ones!
    There are about 20 good or acceptable leaders... and I dance with 2-3!!!
    I have a partner (the school belongs to both of us) and I enjoy very much dancing with him... still, I find it annoying that I cannot dance with anybody else...
    I tried and invited some of the leaders, and they danced with me, but they didn't invite me back! I mean, for instance, last night I danced with my partner, one foreigner I invited (on merengue, on Salsa he preferred his own partner - I don't understand these people! You go to a foreign country and dance with your own partner! I would try anybody else to see what it feels like... Gosh... :evil: :evil: ) and one guy (intermediate and not my kind of leader) who invited me...
    I know I look bored sometimes when I dance with some of them... but it is because they are boring! And it's not only my opinion...
    They know some moves and that's the only thing they do! As if the music is not playing for them.
    One advanced leader almost never invites me (unless he has something to prove), another one invites me once per evening (if he does it at all - he prefers to dance with the beginners only... God knows why!), another one doesn't speak to me anymore (don't wanna discuss why - ego problems) and another one danced with me last time looking after another woman and got on my nerves!